top of page

The Keywi is Born

Updated: Jan 8, 2022

When it comes to design, the Wix blog has everything you need to create beautiful posts that will grab your reader's attention. Check out our essential design features.


After months of carrying around ring-bound flashcards in college, I decided to make a few changes of my own. Being able to study on the go was a definite plus, but there were a few problems with the flashcards I bought in stores. The ring the cards came with was much too flimsy for carrying around on my keys or snapped to my backpack. After a dozen or so times of losing all my cards because the ring pulled open, I switched to a sturdier carabiner. In addition, I taped a rubber band to the back card so I could keep the cards in a neat stack when I wasn’t using them. I used duct tape and a thin rubber band that eventually broke, but for the time I used the first “Keywi ™” cards they served me well! From much use and being transported on my keys everywhere, the card edges got a little worn and discolored, but the trade-off was that I actually put to memory some encouraging verses that really applied to my life.



I'll always remember memorizing Psalm 138:8!


One in particular I had the foresight to date: “10-6-03” Psalm 138:8 “The Lord will fulfill His purpose for me; Your love, O Lord, endures forever, do not abandon the works of Your hands.” (NIV ’83) It was the only card I dated. I believe at the time I was hoping to look back at that date someday and see the fulfillment of God’s purpose over my life, because in that moment I was truly at a loss for what to do next.


With the cards always with me as I went about my day, I was amazed at all the extra time I found to memorize the verses. Time spent waiting in line and various breaks throughout my day found a new purpose…in a very real sense, time that normally was idle time was redeemed! I was encouraged at my progress and my faith was bolstered by the constant meditation on truth this new method provided me.


Comments


bottom of page